Many states have begun legalizing recreational marijuana. However, Mississippi is not one of them. This means it is still one of the states with relatively strict marijuana laws. It may eventually catch up to states like Michigan or Colorado, but it’s hard to determine how long that will take.
In the meantime, however, medical marijuana is legal. So, for those wondering who can sell marijuana in Mississippi, the first part of the answer is that there are medical dispensaries. There are no recreational dispensaries yet, but these medical dispensaries are the only places that can sell the product illegally.
Can individuals sell it?
No, individuals cannot sell marijuana under Mississippi law. Even if someone goes to a dispensary and makes a legal purchase, they cannot then turn around and sell those products to someone else. There’s an entire process that has to be followed when a dispensary gets a license from the state, and these steps have to be taken before a legal sale occurs.
How much does the license cost?
For the first year, the fee for a license is $40,000. Part of this is the annual license fee of $25,000. The other part of it is a nonrefundable application fee, which adds $15,000. But that only applies for the first year. After that, the yearly renewal is only $25,000.
Additionally, dispensaries have rules they need to follow to make sales legally. For example, the main entrance of the dispensary can’t be within 1,000 feet of a church, a school or a childcare facility. Dispensaries also need to be spread out by 1,500 feet from one another.
As you can see, marijuana laws are shifting and changing in Mississippi and the entire country. It’s important to understand what changes may have been made and what legal steps to take.